Humboldt General Calls for Community Nominations for 2019 "Nightingale"

Humboldt General Hospital is asking for the community’s help to identify the nurse who most closely reflects the character and service of the world’s most famous caregiver: Florence Nightingale.

The ninth annual award is bestowed during National Nurses Week, which this year takes place May 6-12.

Humboldt General Hospital Chief Nursing Officer Darlene Bryan said the “Nightingale Nurse of the Year Award” was created to recognize nurses who, like Nightingale, go above and beyond in their duties.

“In short, we are looking for our own ‘Lady with the Lamp’ at Humboldt General Hospital—someone who truly illuminates the art of nursing,” she said.

In addition to staff members, the hospital is asking community members, including former patients of Humboldt General Hospital, to submit a nomination for this year’s award at The nomination process will be open until 5 p.m. Friday, May 3.

“We are excited to open this up to the community as well—to the people who have seen our nursing staff up close and personal,” said Bryan. “We want to know who our community members think has made a difference in the life of patients, family members or co-workers by providing compassionate, kind and quality care.”

Florence Nightingale was a celebrated English nurse, writer and statistician who came to prominence for her pioneering work in nursing during the Crimean War where she tended to wounded soldiers. Nightingale was dubbed “The Lady with the Lamp” after her habit of making rounds at night.

Nightingale laid the foundation of professional nursing with the establishment, in 1860, of her nursing school at St Thomas’ Hospital in London, the first secular nursing school in the world, now part of King's College London. The Nightingale Pledge taken by new nurses was named in her honor, and the annual International Nurses Day is celebrated around the world on her birthday.

Past recipients of Humboldt General Hospital’s “Nightingale Nurse of the Year” award include Diane Nevis, LPN; Pam Ruark, RN; Robyn Dunckhorst RN; Michelle Chadwell, RN; Bertha Higbee, RN; Tina Wilson, RN; Rita Clement, RN; and Kathryn Ourada, RN.

A wall display in the HGH lobby area explains the award and honors past and present recipients.